MythTV 0.29 Video Scripts Update

Whew! Been many changes since my last. One of which was a new house, which means a new computer area, which means a new, beefier computer!

I installed the latest (at the time) stable version of MythTV and used my scripts from before. It looked like it encoded the TV shows properly (an MP4 file was spat out), but ultimately it wasn’t put into the database, and therefore didn’t help me at all. It did finally dawn on me that my old setup with 0.28. From what I can tell, there was a change between the two versions of MythTV that a field from the old version (namely, the recordedid field from the recordedfile table https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Recordedfile_table) that was simply being copied and used when inserting the new recording into the database. This field is marked “unique,” and so it would fail upon inserting. Hodge-podgeing something together, inserting “my @recKeys = grep(!/^recordedid$/, keys %$ref);” before building and executing the SQL insertion command, leaving that field a NULL value, worked. Looked like that the DB would be smart enough to assign it the next unique value and it would keep on keepin’ on.

All that said, I’ve not upgraded to v 0.30 of MythTV, so I’m not sure if the DB has changed any. If anyone has tried the scripts on the newest version, I’d be curious to know if it worked or needed any more tweaks.

Updated scripts at: https://github.com/gomezdevelopment/video-scripts/tree/master/MythTV

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment